## **Wayne County Board of Supervisors**

The Wayne County Board of Supervisors held the County Canvass for the 2024 General Election on the 13<sup>th</sup> day of November 2024, at the Wayne County Courthouse in the Lower-Level Conference Room, Corydon, Iowa, pursuant to notice duly given in compliance with the Iowa Code Section 21.4. The Board noted due notice of meeting subject to said Code Section.

Present- Lance Lange, Chris Moore, and Todd Wilson, members of the Board. Also in attendance: Michelle Dooley, Bill Byrns and Chase Clark.

The Corydon Times Republican live streams the Board of Supervisors regular session meetings on their Facebook page. Unless otherwise noted, all motions are approved unanimously by all Board members present.

Lange called the meeting to order at 10:00AM and took roll call.

**Pledge of Allegiance** 

Moore made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Wilson.

The 2024 General Election was held on Tuesday, November 5, 2024.

Wayne County had 3,162 of 4,005 registered voters cast a ballot on election day.

Zero (0) provisional ballots were cast on the day of election.

Three (3) absentee ballots were rejected by the Absentee & Special Voting Board (ASVP) Board because they were delivered after the deadline to be counted. Notification will be mailed to the voters.

Lange read through the precinct election results while Moore and Wilson compared the results to the Election Canvass Summary and the Abstract of Votes.

Moore made a motion to accept and approve the 2024 General Election Results for Wayne County, Iowa, seconded by Wilson. 2024 General Election Results

President/Vice President		County Agricultural Extension Council (Vote for 4)	
Kamala D Harris/Tim Walz	643	Jay Bellon	1978
Donald J Trump/JD Vance	2426	Josh Hysell	2114
Chase Oliver/Mike ter Maat	12	Sarah Peck	2045
Claudia De la Cruz/Karina Garcia	0	Courtney Power	1782
William P Stodden/Stephanie H Cholensky	0	Scattering (Write-In)	16
Robert F Kennedy Jr/Nicole Shanahan	36	Undervotes	4685
Shiva Ayyadurai/Nicole Ellis	2	Overvotes	28
Scattering (Write-In)	5		
Undervotes	30	Benton Township Trustee	
Overvote	8	Joel Petty	91
		Scattering (Write-In)	0
US Representative Dist3		Undervotes	17
Lanon Baccam	713	Overvotes	0
Zach Nunn	2324		
Scattering (Write-In)	8	Clay Township Trustee	
Undervotes	117	Daniel May	82
Overvotes	0	Scattering (Write-In)	3
		Undervotes	17
State Senator Dist12		Overvotes	0
Nicole Loew	921		
Amy Sinclair	2142	Clinton Township Trustee	
Scattering (Write-In)	6	Burton A Prunty	40
Undervotes	93	Scattering (Write-In)	1
Overvotes	0	Undervotes	9
		Overvotes	0

State Representative Dist24		Corydon Township Trustee	
Sonya Hicks	829		
Sam Wengryn	2072		128
Scattering (Write-In)	6		0
Undervotes	255		21
Overvotes			0
		Grand River Township Trustee	
Supreme Court Justice-David May		Daren Steele (Write-In)	
Yes	1718		4
No	622		1
Undervotes	818		29
Overvotes	4		0
	4		
Court of Appeals Judge-Tyler J Buller	<u> </u>	Howard Township Trustee	
Yes	1615	Jace Allen (Write-In)	4
No	1615	Jace Alley (Write-In)	1
Undervotes	613		1
Overvotes	933		36
	1	Overvotes	0
Court of Appeals Judge-Mary Elizabeth Chicchelly	<u> </u>		
Yes		Jackson Township Trustee	
No	1557	Tim Runyon	65
Undervotes	624	Scattering (Write-In)	1
Overvotes	979	Undervotes	3
Cvervotes	2	Overvotes	0
Court of Appeals Judge-Samuel Langholz			
Yes	4500	Jefferson Township Trustee	
No	1562	Milo Bettis	61
Undervotes	622	Scattering (Write-In)	2
Overvotes	978	Chris Willey (Write-In)	4
	0	Undervotes	18
Court of Appeals Judge – Mary Ellen Tabor		Overvotes	0
Yes	1514		
No	1514		
Undervotes	676	David Westphal	22
Overvotes		Scattering (Write-In)	0
	0	Undervotes	1
District 5B Judge-Patrick W Greenwood		Overvotes	0
Yes	1700		
No	1708	Richman Township Trustee	
Undervotes	537	Lavern Hostetler	64
Overvotes	917	Scattering (Write-In)	0
	0	Undervotes	14
Constitutional Amendment #1		Overvotes	0
Yes			
No	2280	South Fork Township Trustee	
Undervotes	507	Robert DeVore	110
Overvotes	375	Scattering (Write-In)	3
Constitutional Amendment #2	0	Undervotes	19
Yes		Overvotes	0
No	2397		
Undervotes	355		
Overvotes	410		
OAGIAO(62	0		

Page 2 of 3

County Board of Supervisors		Union Township Trustee	
Todd Wilson	2702	Mark Brown	86
Scattering (Write-In)	32	Scattering (Write-In)	1
Undervote	428	Undervotes	18
Overvote	0	Overvotes	0
County Auditor		Walnut Township Trustee	
Michelle Dooley	2690	David L McElvain	65
Scattering (Write-In)	31	Scattering (Write-In)	2
Undervote	441	Undervotes	5
Overvote	0	Overvotes	0
County Sheriff		Warren Township Trustee	
Keith Davis	2677	Barry Andrews	76
Scattering (Write-In)	102	Scattering (Write-In)	0
Undervotes	381	Undervotes	12
Overvotes	2	Overvotes	0
Wayne County Hospital Trustee (Vote for 2)		Washington Township Trustee	
Rhonda Ewing	2317	Carla Foster	85
Cynthia Shelley	2045	Scattering (Write-In)	2
Scattering (Write-In)	18	Undervotes	32
Undervotes	1942	Overvotes	0
Overvotes	2		
		Wright Township Trustee	
Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioner (Vote for 3)		Jason Gradeless	92
Jason Gradeless	1923	Scattering (Write-In)	2
John Sellers Jr	2002	Undervotes	32
Phillip West	1764	Overvotes	0
Scattering (Write-In)	24		
Undervotes	3758		
Overvotes	15		

**Discussion**: Bill Byrns and Chase Clark are working on a project to update Wayne County's E911 communication system. They Grand River Communications to rent tower space from them. They are also in discussions with Motorola to purchase new communication equipment compatible with the Iowa Statewide Interoperability Communication Systems (ISICS). They discussed possible funding options for the project. Fran Cuvea, with Motorola will attend the next regular Board of Supervisor's meeting on November 26<sup>th</sup>.

There being no further business, the next Regular Scheduled meeting of the Wayne County Board of Supervisors will be held on the 26<sup>th</sup> day of November 2024, at 10:00AM in the Wayne County Lower-Level Conference Room. Moore made a motion to adjourn at 10:40AM, seconded by Wilson.

Lance Lange, Board of Supervisor Chair

Attested micuelas J Michelle Dooley, Auditor