Board of Supervisors Meeting – December 4, 2017

December 4, 2017
A meeting of the Wayne County Board of Supervisors was held on the 4th day of December 2017, in the Board Room of the Wayne County Courthouse, Corydon, Iowa, pursuant to notice duly given in compliance with Iowa Code Section 21.4. The Board noted due notice of meeting subject to said Code Section.
Present were David Dotts, Duffy Kester, John Sellers, members of the Board of Supervisors.
Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved unanimously.
Sellers made the motion seconded by Kester to approve the Agenda with the exception of #8 Holly Arnold who could not attend and will reschedule.
Kester made the motion seconded by Sellers to approve the minutes of the November 27, 2017 meeting.
Sellers made the motion with a 2nd by Kester to approve the claims.
The Board set the meeting to discuss the flood plain in Wayne County for Thursday, Dec. 7th, at 9:00 AM in the Board Room.
Auditor, Tammy Clark, asked the Board about changing the dates for claims so that all departments could have claims in a timely manner. The Board chose to continue the present process of claims every two weeks. Clark also discussed the old books that need to be preserved and will check into options for that. Auditor Clark also stated that the training for those in her office went well.
Engineer, Trevor Wolf, discussed the bridge materials that the Board approved on Nov. 27th. He will begin negotiations on the material. Wolf also stated that the bridge on 110th will be delayed due to paperwork. They also discussed the number of signs that have been taken down or destroyed.
Sellers made a motion with a 2nd by Kester for the Board of Supervisors to forego the 1.5% raise recommended by the Compensation Board for the Fiscal Year 2019.
Sellers made a motion with a 2nd by Kester to approve the Compensation Board recommendations for all other elected officials excluding hourly employees. Kester stated that the Compensation Board has no say in raises for hourly employees.
Sellers made the motion to adjourn the meeting with a second by Kester at 10:15 AM.

There being no further business, the next meeting of the Wayne County Board of Supervisors will be held on the 18th day of December at 9:00 AM.

________________________ ___________________________
David Dotts, Chairperson Denise Becker, Secretary