Board of Supervisors Minutes- August 6, 2019

August 6, 2019

A meeting of the Wayne County Board of Supervisors was held on the 6th day of August, 2019, in the Board Room of the Wayne County Courthouse, Corydon, Iowa, pursuant to notice duly given in compliance with Iowa Code Section 21.4.  The Board noted due notice of meeting subject to said Code Section.

Present were David Dotts, Tom Swearingin, Don Seams, members of the Board of Supervisors, Jack Reed, Denice Gradeless, Randy Zerr, Dan Carpenter & Michelle Dooley

Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved unanimously.

Pledge of Allegiance.

TSwearingin made the motion with a second by Dotts to approve the agenda.

Jack Reed started the meeting with Operations & Communication.  His goals for the year are to form well rounded lines of communications in the Departments as well as between the Departments and to help the BOS, Secondary Roads and Auditor’s Office to have a better understanding regarding Union Negotiations.  Jack as been the HR consultant for the past 10 years and he is seeing improvement but there is still room for improvement.

Jack discussed the improvement regarding FMLA policy, updating the handbook and improved communication since Randy Zerr’s arrival.  The target date for implementing the new handbook is January 1st, 2020.

Jack is willing to work with any Department and he attempts to limit the liability for the county.

TSwearingin also mentioned that the Elected Officials/Department Head meeting is improving communication as well.

TSwearingin made the motion to go into Closed Session pursuant of 20.17 (3) Union Contract Discussion with a second by Seams at 10:20AM

TSwearingin made the motion to come out of Closed Session with a second by Seams at 11:03AM

No public Comment

TSwearingin made motion to adjourn meeting with a second by Seams at 11:05AM

There being no further business, the next meeting of the Wayne County Board of Supervisors will be held on the 12th day of August, 2019.


_______________________________                                  ______________________________

David Dotts, Chairperson                                                        Michelle Dooley, Auditor